69 Netball New Zealand Community Coach Workshops were delivered this year with 488 coaches in attendance.

The Zone would like to thank and recognise our valued Coach Developers who have facilitated NNZ Community Coach Workshops in 2017: Ann Rodgers, Ivy Topping, Tania Karauria, Lisa Murphy, Parekura Muraahi, Val Sampson, Carmell Wagg, Karen Bevan, Sandra Edge and Maria Hegarty.

Three informal coaching workshops were facilitated by current Silver Ferns Performance Analyst Dr Bobby Willcox in Lower Hutt, former Silver Fern Jodi Brown MNZM in Palmerston North and former Silver Fern Leana de Bruin in Stratford.

Seven coaches attained the ‘new’ NNZ Community Coach Level 1 Award (CCA) – Veronica Adams, Nina McGregor, Cynthia Lendrum, Ada Graham, Jenny Smith, Delwynn Walker and Yvonne Hill.

Natalie Milicich (the Zone) attained Netball New Zealand’s Performance Coach Qualification (PCQ) and was also awarded the NNZ Performance Coach of the Year Award. Che Tamati (Taranaki) was awarded the Netball New Zealand Community Coach of the Year Award.

The annual Coaching Conference ‘Great Coaches, Great Athletes’ was held in September at ASB Sports Centre, Wellington.  Over forty coaches from around the Zone attended the event, which was facilitated by presenters including Mark Sorenson, Waimarama Taumaunu, Irene van Dyk, Yvette McCausland-Durie, Sandra Edge, Anna Andrews, Dion Te Whetu, Dr Natalie Hogg, Bella Ansell, Alex Johnson, Gina Di Rienzo and Dessi Broughton.

aotea blue