Saint Kentigern College has broken Mt Albert Grammar Schools’ hold on the NZ Secondary Schools Champs trophy, with a 35 - 34 victory at the Walter Nash Centre in Lower Hutt this afternoon.

In a closely fought contest – a repeat of last year’s Grand Final - it was Saint Kentigern College’s strong third quarter that propelled them to victory capping off an impressive tournament.

Saint Kentigern College started the better of the two teams, strong defensive pressure handing them an 11-8 lead at the end of the first quarter.

The second quarter was a different story, with Mount Albert Grammar School showing their composure and experience to take a four goal lead at half-time, 21-17.

With the lead changing hands again, Saint Kentigern College took the ascendency in the all-important third quarter. A clinical display and precision shooting seeing them take the lead 28-27.

With four minutes to play in the final quarter and the crowd roaring in support, Saint Kentigern found themselves with their noses in front by four goals.

As the clock wound down, Saint Kentigern College held the slimmest of margins – one goal – as Mount Albert Grammar School tried valiantly to draw level in the final minutes.

When the final whistle blew, the jubilation for Saint Kentigern College was clear – winners of the 2016 NZ Secondary Schools Netball Champs, 35-34.

Final Standings:

1 – Saint Kentigern College

2 – Mount Albert Grammar School

3 – Manukura

4 – Epsom Girls Grammar

5 – St Mary’s College

6 – Wellington East Girls’ College

7 – St Margaret’s College

8 – Rotorua Girls’ High School

9 – Southland Girls’ High School

10 – Palmerston North Girls’ High School

11 – St Hilda’s Collegiate

12 – Aorere College

13 – Wellington Girls’ College

14 – Baradene College

15 – St Andrew’s College

16 – Marlborough Girls’ College

Tournament Team:

Ainsleyanna Puleiata - St Mary's College

Ashleigh Garner - Saint Kentigern College

Bianca Nagaiya - Epsom Girls' Grammar

Braxton Te Riini - Manukura

Elle Temu - Mt Albert Grammar

Emily Autangavaia - Manukura

Greer Sinclair - Epsom Girls' Grammar

Kasey Price - Mt Albert Grammar

Lahaina-Lee Upu-Toparea - Mt Albert Grammar

Lily Marshall - St Margaret's College

Lyric Faleafanga - St Mary's College

Mererangi Paul - Saint Kentigern College

Renee Savai'inaea - St Mary's College

Saviour Tui - St Mary's College

Tayla Earle - Saint Kentigern College

Theresa Ngata - Aorere College

Tiana Metuarau - Wellington East Girls' College

Victoria Kolose - Saint Kentigern College


Shooter of the Tournament: Tiana Metuarau (Wellington East Girls' College)

Midcourter of the Tournament: Ainsleyanna Puleiata (St Mary's College)

Defender of the Tournament: Renee Savai'inaea (St Mary's College)