NCZ would like to acknowledge and congratulate the following coaches for their achievements in 2016:

Fifty-three coaches successfully completed their Community Coach Award

NCZ CCA Coaches 2016

Three coaches attained the NNZ Performance Coach Qualification and joined eight other NZ coaches who were the first ever recipients of this award:

Lisa Tod & Lee-Anne Taylor (Hawkes Bay) and Tash Rowlands (Hutt Valley)

NCZ would also like to thank the following centres for hosting National events in 2016:

  • Netball Taranaki - North Island Under 15 Championships July
  • Netball Wanganui - Lower North Island Secondary Schools (LNISS) August/September
  • Netball Hutt Valley - New Zealand Secondary Schools (NZSS) October (with NNZ)

Eight informal coach workshops were delivered throughout the Zone by Waimarama Taumaunu, Yvette McCausland-Durie, Dennis Slade and Sandra Edge. For details of 2017 opportunities please refer to our Module Handbook

Module Booklet

Thank you to our Independent Coach Developers for their contribution and support in delivering Community Coach Modules across the Zone in 2016: Adrienne Morrin, Charissa Barham, Ivy Topping, Karen Bevan, Lisa Murphy, Tania Lister, Tash Rowlands, Valerie Sampson.

Bi-annual Netball Development Officer (NDO) Forums were delivered in June and November at Vautier Park in Palmerston North by the Zone, providing officers with development workshops and networking opportunities with other Centres from across the Central Zone.

86 Netball New Zealand Coach Developing Modules were delivered this year around the Zone with 621 coaches attending the modules in total.

  • Coach Developer opportunities were provided in partnership with Sport Wellington and were delivered in Wellington and Hutt Valley with Centre development staff - Maria Hegarty and John Neho (Wellington), Kirsten Behl and Lynette Imrie (Hutt Valley), Carmell Wagg (Kapiti) and Sandy Biel (Wairarapa).
  • Further coach developer opportunities were provided for all Centre development staff at the NDO Forum in June at Massey University which included Ann Rodgers and Savarna Wilton (Taranaki), Denise Aiolupotea and Natalie Corbett (Hawkes Bay), Parekura Muraahi and Tash Kingi (Wanganui), Janette Pease, Whitney Henderson and Lathainia Picking (Manawatu), Brigid McKenzie (Kapiti) and Lee Adamson (Kapi-Mana).
  • 3 NNZ Advanced modules were held in Wellington for coaches enrolled in the Performance Coach Qualification – Advanced Skill Analysis, Mental Skills and Skill Acquisition delivered by Adrienne Morrin, Dr Kylie Wilson, Anna Cave and Waimarama Taumaunu.
  • The annual coaching conference ‘Think, Do, Grow’ held in October at Massey University, Palmerston North was a great success with over fifty coaches from around the Zone attending